Homemade Pumpkin Puree

November 22, 2011 § Leave a comment

Ok, so I’ve never carved a jack-o-lantern. I’ve never even made a pumpkin pie. I’ve never even made a pie before, unless galettes and pop-tarts count.

I don’t know why I volunteered to make pumpkin pie from scratch, but I am simultaneously super excited and super scared I will poison my whole family.

Lets see what happens!

So, of course, you need pumpkin purée for a pumpkin pie.

Ingredients

  • 2 small pumpkins

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees
  2. Cut pumpkins in half from top to bottom
  3. Place pumpkins face down in baking pan on top of a cooking sheet
  4. Cook for about 1 hour
  5. When pumpkins are removed they will be browned and soft, allow to cool slightly (unless you are impatient like me)
  6. Scoop out the flesh ( I used one of those ice-cream scoops with the mechanical release to make it easier)
  7. Blend the scooped out flesh
  8. Store in fridge or freezer once thoroughly cooled

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Homemade Pumpkin Puree at Ice cream, Aspirin, and Gin.

meta

